top of page
Writer's pictureamber ferguson

Cultural Diversity & Tradition - Is America accepting?

Since what seems like the beginning of time, America is portrayed as the place to be and the place to raise a family. The land of opportunity, if you will. But it seems as though this may be a misleading idealism.

While America may be great for those who were born here, it isn't always quite the same experience for those who come from different places and cultures.

Many immigrants bring their families here to provide a better environment, and better opportunities for their children's futures, specifically. This can have to do with escaping corrupt leadership, a failing economy, pollution, or simply wanting to have better healthcare, education, and jobs for the family. While the United States may offer these things, it isn't always that easy for those making a transition from one country to the United States of America. You see, it isn't as simple as packing up, moving, and getting settled in a new home and job. For example, the process of becoming a legal citizen in the United States generally takes 5-7 years, and that's just the average! It could be even longer than that. For many, there is a sense of urgency to enter into the United States and the process of gaining citizenship doesn't always align with those legitimate needs. Many families get separated for years, typically sending the father over to the United States and leaving the mother and children behind. This is so the father can find a home and a job to support the family once they have arrived, as well as send money home so they too, can cross the border. Such distance between family members at such a critical time can dramatically change the roles and dynamics within the home. This can ultimately change the entire culture of a family and impact generations to come. Even once reunited in the United States, many families leave behind traditions, memories, and beliefs to fit in. Many lose their native language because they are mocked for not speaking English. Often times, pictures and scrapbooks are left behind. For first generation immigrants, they are moving away from the support and safety of family. It is important to me that those entering into this country, feel safe and supported in the family and cultural differences that they have. We could learn from them, and vice versa.

Something that influences culture is tradition. To clarify, traditions are "inherited patterns of belief or behavior". While traditions vary in home to home, and some may "fit" better in certain families, I do believe there are some that share a common good from family to family. First, being religion. Sharing a common belief with those around you can help you feel safe, supported, and understood. Religion within the home and practiced in the family creates unity and a "common goal" of living by certain standards and beliefs. Another example, quality family time. This one can really vary between households. For some, family dinner. For others, that could be game night, movie night, or just sit-outside-on-the-porch-swing night. Regardless, having a specific day and time to be together as a family, will help create bonds and closeness that may otherwise be lacking. This also provides an opportunity to talk about plans for the week, issues that may have come up, or anything else that may need catching up in the home.

My family is very vocal, we believe we should express how we feel and what we are thinking - even if that means crying at the dinner table.. which can be quite awkward for some. As much as I can joke about our overly emotional times, the communication I learned in my home has greatly impacted my life today and will continue to do so. I apply it to my relationships, my friendships, in the classroom, with my co-workers, and so much more. Effective communication is essential for me and those who choose to be a part of my life, and that is because I was raised with the belief that communication has great impact. To me, communication can make or break an opportunity, a relationship, a friendship, and so on.


Some of my favorite times while I still lived at home, were the times my family and I got together and made a joke out of ourselves. Family nights always ended in laughter, wrestling, and running up the stairs to escape. We didn't always have something serious or important to talk about every time - but we made family time important and a priority. I truly believe this has blessed my family in ways we may not even recognize and this family time is something I will incorporate into my own when the time comes.

I'm grateful for the opportunities I've been given and for the beliefs and traditions my family shares.

What is your favorite tradition that your family has?




13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fathers

With changing expectations, gender roles, and opinions from society, it seems like a home can be whatever you make it. There are children...

Communication and Compassion

Effective communication is what every relationship, both romantic and platonic, need to survive and thrive - but what really is...

Coping With Distress

When I was younger, around ten years old, I lost two cousins in a car accident. They were part of a family with nine kids, all raised in...

Коментарі


bottom of page